Daal Makhani (Black Urad daal in a spicy and creamy sauce)

Hey Guys!!! 🙂 Here I am, “The lazy and irregular blogger”, who posts once in a blue moon in her blog :(.I am unable to post often …aaah I so wish I could wisely  use my time at least from this new year:).

Daal Makhani

Daal Makhani

Anyways, now let me tell you about this wonderful daal that I prepared last Sunday for lunch. I had been planning to prepare this since a long time and somehow could prepare this only last week. As usual I started my day very late that day and ended up serving lunch to everyone at 3 PM in the afternoon when they all were having their plates with them as they were crazily hungry and more because the fragrance and aroma this daal created made all of us insanely hungry and we all were ready to hogg 🙂 🙂 :). I should say everyone enjoyed the lunch to the core, it completely did justice in satisfying our hungry tummies 🙂 I served this daal along with a simple flavoured rice and I must say the combination was heaven :).Ok enough of my self-acclamations, off you go to the recipe and try this out yourself and get drowned in the divine taste(No wonder this daal is prepared during festivities and fasts ,this is also called “maa ki daal”,and is prepared during karva chauth and few other festivals in Northen India :))

Ingredients: (Serves 4 persons)

Black Urad Daal – 100 Gms

Onions (medium size) – 3(finely chopped)

Tomato (medium size) – 3 (Pureed)

Butter – 10-15g

Fresh Cream – ¼cup

Cumin Seeds (Jeera/Seeragam/Jilakara) – 1 tablespoon

Cinnamon(Dalchini/Pattai/) – 1 inch sticks – 2 nos.

Cloves(Lavang/Krambu/Lavangam) – 4-5 nos

Green Cardomom(Elaichi/Elaika) – 4 nos.

Carawan seeds(Ajwain/vomam/vamu) – ½ teaspoon

Green Chillies – 4 nos ( vertically slitted)

Ginger – 2 inches – (crushed finely)

Asafoetida (Hing/perungayam/Inguva) – A pinch

Mustard oil (Optional) – 1 Table spoon( For added Flavour)

Salt – To taste

Daal Makhani

Daal Makhani

Procedure :

1)      Wash the Daal properly and soak overnight or for 8-10 hours.Pressure cook the daal with salt on a slow flame until it is soft .

2)      Heat a Kadai/Handi,add butter, and all the whole spices .Saute for a minute or two until the spices release their aroma.Now add the crushed ginger and fry until the raw smell of ginger goes.Next add onions and green chillies and fry till they become translucent(Do not brown the onions).

Daal Makhani

Daal Makhani

3)      Next add the pureed tomatoes and wait until it gets cooked( At this stage if you want the daal to be more spicy,you can add a 2 teaspoons of red chilli powder).Another optional step here is to add some mustard oil,just to enhance the flavour of the dish,this dish originates from Punjab region in India,where mustard seeds/oil is used extensively, inorder to enjoy the authenticate flavour of this dish I have used this oil here.

Daal Makhani

4)      With this the basic masala mixture is ready,now add the daal to this and add enough water( depending on the consistency you want this daal to be) mix well and check for salt.

5)      Allow to cook for 10-15 minutes.Next add ,finely chopped fresh coriander leaves and switch off the flame.Mix the daal well.

Daal Makhani

Daal Makhani

6)      Now add the fresh cream and give a good mix and cover the pan.Let this sit on the stove with the flame switch off, for 3-5 minutes.

Daal Makhani

7)      DaalMakhani is ready to be served. 🙂 Transfer this in to the serving bowl and garnish with some fresh cream and a dollop of butter 🙂 Enjoy 🙂

DSCN3521

Do try this and let me know how you liked it 🙂

If you like my blog please take time to follow this space(you will find the follow button on the bottom corner on the right side of this space and also you can find another on the top corner  on the right side of this space).

I would be more than happy if you could encourage and support me by liking my face book page here . 🙂

Keep coming back and do let me know your suggestions and feedback on how I can improve. 🙂

I am waiting to hear from you.

4 thoughts on “Daal Makhani (Black Urad daal in a spicy and creamy sauce)

Leave a Reply

